Details of the Sovereign Chapters and Councils of the A&ASR in Zimbabwe

The Supreme Council for Thirty-Third and Last Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite for Scotland and the Dominions and Dependencies of the British Crown and other Parts of the World oversees the twenty nine Degrees of the Scottish Rite.

The Province of Zimbabwe

The Province of Zimbabwe consists of one Sovereign Chapter and one Sovereign Council

Sovereign Chapters

Sarum No. 91 - Formed on 1 December 1953

Meets in Freemasons’ Hall, Bishop Gaul Avenue, Harare on the first Monday in February, May [I], August and November.

The Installation takes place during the May meeting.

Sovereign Councils

Hunyani No. 33 - Formed on 22 March 1968

Meets at Freemasons' Hall, Bishop Gaul Avenue, Harare on the first Monday in April, July and September [I].

The Installation takes place during the September meeting.

About Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe, officially the Republic of Zimbabwe is a landlocked country located in the southern part of the African continent, between the Zambezi and Limpopo rivers. It is bordered by South Africa to the south, Botswana to the southwest, Zambia and a tip of Namibia to the northwest and Mozambique to the east.

Zimbabwe has three official languages: English, Shona, and Ndebele. Zimbabwe began as the British self-governing colony of Southern Rhodesia, created from land held by the British South Africa Company.


Click on the Map of the World to return to the Provinces Page.